Cannes 2023 Jury: Brie Larson to Paul Dano; Here’s the full list of the panel

Photo of author

By Webdesk

The jury class of Cannes for 2023 has been announced.

The 76th edition of the Cannes Film Festival, set to take place in May, has revealed details on the panel front by providing an insight into the judges for this year’s film festival. The festival’s jury, led this year by “Triangle of Sadness” filmmaker and 2022 Palme d’Or winner Ruben OStlund, is composed of a star-studded lineup of actors and directors.

Cannes Festival judges include:

Jury members include:

  • Actors Paul Dano and Brie Larson
  • Moroccan director Maryam Touzani
  • French actor Denis Menochet
  • British-Zambian screenwriter and director Rungano Nyoni
  • Afghan author Atiq Rahimi
  • Argentinian director and screenwriter Damián Szifrón
  • Director Julia Ducournau, who won the Palme d’Or in 2021 for her film ‘Titane’,

Ruben OStlund is appointed as jury president for Cannes 2023.

Cannes announced Stlund’s appointment as jury president on February 27, leaving a significant gap of more than two months until the jury’s full disclosure. As in previous years, the majority of judges were those who have directed or acted in films screened at the festival.

Newcomer Brie Larson will serve as a judge for Cannes 2023.

Despite starring in a number of indie films, “Captain Marvel” star Brie Larson seems to be a relative newcomer to Cannes. This summer she stars in ‘Fast X’ and ‘Lessons in Chemistry’.

Dano has appeared in two films at the Cannes Film Festival: Paolo Sorrentino’s “Youth” and Bong Joon-ho’s “Okja.”

Meanwhile, OStlund has received the festival’s top prize twice, for “Triangle of Sadness” in 2022 and “The Square” in 2017. Before that, he presented two films at Un Certain Regard, one of which, “Force Majeure”, won the jury prize .

READ ALSO: Brie Larson OPENES UP about her fear of confrontation; Says it’s “not worth it” to please others just to be nice

Here’s what Ruben Ostlund had to say about his nomination for president

“I am happy, proud and humbled to be given the honor of president of the jury for this year’s competition at the Festival de Cannes,” said Stlund, who will be the first Swede to lead the jury in 50 years, following Ingrid Bergman. . “Nowhere in the film world is the anticipation as strong as when the curtain goes down for the films that are in competition at the festival.”

When does the Cannes Film Festival start?

The 76th edition will take place in Cannes from 16 to 27 May.

READ ALSO: Is Queen Camilla still outraged by Prince Harry’s claims in memoir Spare? Details inside

Source link
#Cannes #Jury #Brie #Larson #Paul #Dano #Heres #full #list #panel

Share via
Copy link