Johnson Charles joins Kolkata Knight Riders replacing Litton Das

Photo of author

By Webdesk

Two-time T20 World Cup champion Johnson Charles has joined Kolkata Knight Riders as a replacement player for Litton Das for the remainder of IPL 2023.

A member of the West Indies team who was crowned champions in 2012 and 2016, Charles brings extensive experience at the top of the batting order. He led off in 179 of his 219 T20 innings, averaging 25.47 and hitting 125.72. However, he is only just getting acquainted with international cricket.

Charles spent six years out of the West Indies creation, returning in October 2022 and has played seven T20Is since then. He made a 39-ball century against South Africa in March. This will be the 34-year-old’s first stint in the IPL, having previously featured in franchise competitions in the Caribbean, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan.
Litton had left the Knight Riders’ camp earlier this month to deal with a medical emergency in his family. He played just one game in IPL 2023 after being bought at auction in December last year for INR 50 lakh (approximately USD 60,000). Litton had also been called up to play for Bangladesh in an ODI series against Ireland next week. He is said to have missed three of the Knight Riders’ four remaining games as they continue to fight for a place in the playoffs.

KKR has been struggling for stability at the top this season, with six opening combinations in nine games. Their first wicket partnership averages 21.33 – only Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals are worse – and have passed fifty only once.

Brought in for INR 50 lakh (approximately USD 60,000), Charles also has some experience in middle order beating. He’s hit two of his three T20 centuries from Nos. 3 and 4, which could come in handy as KKR has two other players presenting an attractive package as lead-off hitter.

Knight Riders, currently eighth in the points table, face Sunrisers Hyderabad on Thursday and have scheduled matches with Punjab Kings (May 8), Rajasthan Royals (May 11), Chennai Super Kings (May 14) and Lucknow Super Giants (May 20) .

Source link

Share via
Copy link