Karan Johar, Ram Charan, Jr NTR and other Indian celebs get invitations to become Academy members

Photo of author

By Webdesk

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has released its list of invitees and a total of 398 new members will be joining this year. This list includes Indian celebrities like Karan Johar, RRR actors Ram Charan and Jr NTR, Mani Ratnam and more. They join international stars such as Taylor Swift, Ke Huy Qwan, Austin Butler, Abel Makkonen Tesfaye “The Weeknd”, Stephanie Hsu and others.

Indian Celebrities Invited by The Academy

Besides Karan, Ram and Jr NTR, the list also includes Siddharth Roy Kapur, director Chaitanya Tamhane, Oscar-winning composer MM Keeravani and lyricist Chandrabose, who won for RRR’s song Naatu Naatu. Filmmaker Shaunak Sen, whose documentary All That Breathes was nominated for this year’s Academy Awards, and in the cinematographer category, KK Senthil Kumar, who worked on SS Rajamouli’s RRR, are also on the list. Membership selection is said to be based on “professional qualifications, with an ongoing commitment to representation, inclusion and justice.”

READ ALSO: Tum Kya Mile Song: Karan Johar says Alia Bhatt was shot shortly after Raha’s birth; Reveals that Ranveer Singh was nervous

Academy CEO Bill Kramer and Academy President Janet Yang said, “The Academy is proud to welcome these artists and professionals to our membership.

Now The Academy has over 10,000 members and only they get the chance to vote for Oscar winners. Next year’s Oscars will be held on March 10.

Meanwhile, several Indian celebs have made their mark at this year’s Oscars. RRR’s song Naatu Naatu made history when it received the Oscar for Best Song, while Guneet Monga’s The Elephant Whisperers won Best Documentary Short.

Source link
#Karan #Johar #Ram #Charan #NTR #Indian #celebs #invitations #Academy #members

Share via
Copy link