Titans head coach, three-time Super Bowl champion Mike Vrabel, fan-voted into Patriots Hall of Fame

Photo of author

By Webdesk


Three-time Super Bowl champion, New England fan favorite, and former linebacker Mike Vrabel was voted into the Patriots Hall of Fame by the fans. Vrabel, currently the head coach of the Tennessee Titans, is the 34th inductee to join the Red Jacket Club, with a ceremony date and time to be determined.

Vrabel was part of the Patriots’ first dynasty, winning Super Bowls XXXVI, XXXVIII, and XXXIX with the team. He played in New England from 2001 to 2008.

Patriots owner Robert Kraft acknowledged Vrabel’s impact on the Patriots and complimented him both as a player and as a person.

“It is my pleasure to announce Mike Vrabel as this year’s roster for the Patriots Hall of Fame,” Kraft said (via the Patriots’ official website). “Mike’s leadership and versatility were essential to one of the most successful eras in franchise history, helping the Patriots win three Super Bowl titles in four years and set multiple NFL records for consecutive wins.”

Kraft noted how versatile Vrabel was as a player, noting that he went far beyond being a defensive player, with highlights in offensive and special teams as well. Vrabel had 10 receptions from quarterback Tom Brady, all for touchdowns.

“Many Patriots players made contributions in all three phases of the game, but none were more significant than Mike,” Kraft said. He was an eight-year starter on defense who also contributed regularly to special teams and is the only player in NFL history to score touchdowns in his first 10 career receptions, including touchdowns in back-to-back Super Bowl victories. He was respected for his football intelligence and was destined to become the head coach of this league. I look forward to welcoming him back to New England, where his introduction will preserve his legacy as one of the greatest players in franchise history.”

Vrabel joins former teammates Troy Brown (2012), Tedy Bruschi (2013), Kevin Faulk (2016), Ty Law (2014), Matt Light (2018), Willie McGinest (2015) and Richard Seymour (2022) as members of the venue to be part of the three-Super Bowl-winning group.

Source link

Share via
Copy link